Scroll Top


14 NOVEMBER 2023

9:00 – 10:30
Opening Ceremony

Chairs: Kyoji Sassa – ICL Secretary General and Veronica Tofani – ICL Vice President and WLF6 Secretary General

9:00 – 9:10

Opening address from the primary organizers

Nicola Casagli – ICL President and Chair of the 6th WLF
Paolo Canuti – UNESCO Chairholder prevention and sustainable mitigation of geo-hydrological hazard **

9:10 – 9:35

Greetings from United Nations organizations

Tshilidzi Marwala Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations / Rector of the United Nations University *
Mami Mizutori UN Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Disaster Risk Reduction *
Qu Dongyu Director-General of the Food and Agriculture Organization FAO *
Elena Manaenkova – Deputy Secretary-General of the World Meteorological Organization WMO *
Lidia Brito Assistant Director-General for Natural Sciences of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization UNESCO **

9:35 – 9:55

Greetings from scientific organizations

Motoko Kotani – Vice-President for Science and Society of the International Science Council ISC *
Mustafa B. Shehu – President of the World Federation of Engineering Organizations WFEO *
John Ludden – President of the International Union of Geological Sciences IUGS
Chris Rizos – President of the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics IUGG *

9:55 – 10:30

Welcome messages from host organizations in Italy

Marco Pierini – Vice Rector of Florence University
Nello Musumeci – Minister for Civil Protection *
Anna Maria Bernini – Minister of University and Research **
Gilberto Pichetto Fratin – Minister of Environment *

* video message

** written message

10:30 – 11:00
Coffee break
11:00 – 13:00
KLC2020 General Conference 2023 & High-Level Panel Discussion

Chair: John Ludden – IUGS President

11:00 – 11:10

Opening of the KLC2020 General Conference 2023

John Ludden – IUGS President and Chair of KLC2020 General Conference 2023

11:10 – 11:30

Signing ceremony of new KLC2020 signatories

Kyoji Sassa – Secretary General of KLC2020

Introduction of new KLC2020 partners:
Zhimin Wu – Director, Forestry Division at FAO
John Ludden – President, International Union of Geological Sciences (IUGS)
Fawu Wang – Professor, Tongji University, China
Jian Guo – Professor, Tsinghua University, China
Huiming Tang – Vice-President, China University of Geosciences, China *
Rajendra Ratnoo – Director, National Institute of Disaster Management (NIDM), India
Kaoru Takara – President, National Research Institute for Earth Science and Disaster Resilience (NIED), Japan *
Taichi Minamitani – Director, Disaster Risk Reduction Team 1, Global Environment Department, Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA), Japan **
Shinji Sassa – Head, Soil Dynamics Group, National Institute of Maritime, Port and Aviation Technology, Japan
Katsuo Sasahara – Professor, Kochi University, Japan *
Ryosuke Seko – Director, Chuo Kaihatu Cooperation, Japan
Yoshiyuki Yagiura – President, Kiso-Jiban Consultants Co., Ltd., Japan ***
Julijana Bojadjieva – Macedonian Association for Geotechnics, North Macedonia
Jagath Gunatilake – Director, Engineering Geology Research Group (EGRG), University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka
Jonathan Chambers – United Kingdom Research and Innovation as represented by the British Geological Survey, UK
Beena Ajmera – Iowa State University, USA

11:30 – 12:45

High-Level Panel discussion “KLC2020 Review and way forward”

Chairs: Matjaž Mikoš and Qunli Han – Global Promotion Committee of IPL and KLC2020

Panelists from KLC2020 partners:
Thomas Hofer – Senior Forestry Officer at FAO
Yuki Matsuoka – Head UNDRR office in Japan
Soichiro Yasukawa – Chief of Disaster Risk Reduction Unit at UNESCO
Satoru Nishikawa – International Institute of Disaster Science
Alexander Rudloff – Secretary General of IUGG
Hiroshi Kitazato – Treasurer of IUGS
Fabrizio Curcio – Department of Civil Protection Italian Government
Stefano Laporta – ISPRA, Geological Survey of Italy

Nicola Casagli – ICL President and Chair of the 6th WLF
Explanation of the Florence Declaration

12:45 – 12:50

Adoption of the Florence Declaration on Landslide Risk Reduction

John Ludden – IUGS President and Chair of KLC2020 General Conference 2023

12:50 – 13:00

Joint photo of the panelists and the new KLC2020 signatories

* represented by Kyoji Sassa

** represented by Satoru Nishikawa

*** represented by Kazuo Konagai


13:00 – 14:00
14:00 – 16:00
WLF6 Plenary lectures

Chairs: Fausto Guzzetti – National Research Council and Vít Vilímek – ICL Vice-President

14:00 – 14:30

Olivier Dewitte – Royal Museum for Central Africa
Landslides in tropical environments: insight from the East African Rift

14:30 – 15:00

Xuanmei Fan – Chengdu University of Technology
Mechanisms and prediction of earthquake and climate change induced cascading hazards

15:00 – 15:30

Jonathan Godt – USGS
New US National Strategy for Landslide Loss Reduction

15:30 – 16:00

Giovanni B. Crosta – Università degli Studi di Milano Bicocca
Landslides impact on structures and infrastructures

16:00 – 16:30
Coffee break
16:30 – 18:00
Recognition and Awards Ceremony

Chairs: Peter Bobrowsky – Chair IPL Awards Committee and Irasema Alcántara Ayala – Chair IPL Evaluation Committee

16:30 – 17:00

World Centers of Excellence on Landslide Risk Reduction

  • Institute of Cold Regions Science and Engineering, Northeast Forestry University, China
  • Croatian Landslide Group, Croatia
  • Charles University, Czech Republic
  • National Institute of Disaster Management (NIDM), India
  • Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Amritapuri campus, India
  • Universitas Gadjah Mada, Indonesia
  • University of Calabria (UNICAL), Italy
  • UNESCO Chair on Prevention and Sustainable Management of Geo-Hydrological Hazards, University of Florence, Italy
  • CERI – Centre for Research on Prediction, Prevention, and Mitigation of Geological Risks, Italy
  • Institute of Geography, National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM), Mexico
  • JSC “Hydroproject Institute”, Russia
  • Laboratory of Engineering Geodynamics, Department of Engineering and Ecological Geology, Faculty of Geology, Moscow State University, Russia
  • University of Belgrade, Faculty of Mining and Geology, Belgrade, Serbia
  • University of Ljubljana -Faculty of Civil and Geodetic Engineering (UL FGG) and the UNESCO Chair on Water-related Disaster Risk Reduction (WR DRR), Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • Engineering Geology Research Group (EGRG), Department of Geology, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka
  • British Geological Survey, U.K.
17:00 – 17:30

Varnes Medals

Charles Ng – Hong Kong University of Science and Technology – 2022 Medal
Edward N. Bromhead – formerly Kingston University UK – 2022 Medal
Irasema Alcántara-Ayala – National Autonomous University of Mexico – 2023 Medal

17:30 – 17:40

IPL-KLC Award for Success

Maneesha V. Ramesh2021-2023 Award

17:40 – 17:50

Hiroshi Fukuoka IPL Award

Vít Vilímek and Jan Klimeš – Charles University – 2021-2023 Award
17:50 – 18:00

Oldrich Hungr Awards 

Clarence Choi – University of Hong Kong – 2022 Award
Tommaso Carlà – University of Florence – 2023 Award


Parallel Sessions and closing plenary session

Discover all the Parallel Sessions on November 15th, 16th and 17th and the Closing Plenary Session on November 17th.

Privacy Preferences
When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in form of cookies. Here you can change your privacy preferences. Please note that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we offer. Our website uses only technical cookies and does not sell your data to third party services.